Union Awards 2021

The nominees for the 2021 Union Awards have been announced.

Union Awards

We are delighted to announce that the following students, staff and societies have been nominated for the 2021 Union Awards.

Inspirational and Motivational Teaching or Support

  • Gemma Graham – School of Applied Social Sciences
  • Bhavik Patel – School of Pharmacy and Biomolecular Sciences
  • Khuong Nguyen – School of Computing, Engineering and Maths

Course Leader of the Year

  • Hannah Thurston & Kirsty Mcgregor  - School of Applied Social Sciences
  • Patricia Fordham – School of Health Sciences
  • Jess Moriarty – School of Humanities

Support Staff Award

  • Katharine Roberts – SSGT, Student Operations and Support.
  • Sophie Odgers-Roe – Placement Coordinator, Student Operations and Support.
  • Academic Quality & Standards Team - Academic Quality & Standards, Academic Services.

Undergraduate Rep of the Year

  • Zuzanna Murzyn - BA (Hons) Architecture Rep
  • Amy Knowles - BA (Hons) Sociology Rep
  • Sam Mcneff - BSc (Hons) Nursing (Child) Rep

Postgraduate Rep of the Year Award

  • Claud Van-Nimwegen - MA Inclusive Arts Practice Rep
  • Sean Heath - PhD Sport and Service Management Rep & Student Trustee
  • Shahnaz Biggs - PhD Applied Social Science Rep

Volunteer of the Year

  • Sam McNeff – Child Nursing Course Rep & Nursing Society Committee Member
  • Joe Mustoe – Buzz Radio Committee Member
  • Dwayne Williams – Student Trustee
  • Dhiraj Varma – Equality Society Committee Member

New Society of the Year

  • Bar Society 
  • Bangladeshi Society
  • Mature Students’ Society

Society Fundraiser of the Year

  • British Sign Language Society
  • Bangladeshi Society
  • Pharmacy Society

Society of the Year

  • Debate Society
  • British Sign Language Society
  • Nursing Society 

Society Event of the Year

  • Occupational Therapy Society
  • Psychology Society
  • Criminology Society

Virtual Valiant Award

  • Psychology Society
  • South-East Asian Society
  • Ecological Society

Inspiring Hope Award

  • Sound of Zion Society
  • Nursing Society
  • British Sign Language Society

Recognition Awards

  • African Caribbean Society
  • LGBTQ+ Society
  • Ecological Society
  • Debate Society
  • Mature Students’ Society

Honorary Life Membership of Brighton Students’ Union

  • Jenny George
  • Di Lace
  • John Smith
  • Amanda Bright

The Union Awards are the Student Unions’ annual student-led teaching and student volunteering awards that celebrate the staff and students have helped to improve the student experience over the past academic year. We received over 200 nominations.

Congratulations to everyone that has been nominated. We look forward to seeing you at our online ceremony on Wednesday 26 May at 7pm.