Union Awards Winners Announced

No ratings yet. Log in to rate.


Thank you to everyone who attended the Union Awards last night (Tuesday 16th May) at Komedia, Brighton. It was an amazing evening celebrating the very best in student volunteering, student representation and outstanding teaching. 

Click the photo above to be taken through to our Facebook photo album of the evening.

Below are the full list of winners, please note additional information will be added. 

Inclusive Teaching Award

For making sure all voices, views and histories are included and celebrated in the curriculum. 

Winner: Dr. Angad Panesar


Inspirational Teaching

For the tutor who has inspired you and has set your imagination and interest on fire.

Winner: Carl Walker


Support Staff Award

The member or group of support staff who has really helped your learning or added to the quality of your time at university. 

Winner: Debbie Miller


Best Feedback

For the tutor who provides the most helpful feedback on your work.

Winner: Julie Morgan


Course Rep of the Year

For the Course Rep that has made a real difference to the quality of teaching, learning & your academic experience.

Winner: Rhiannon Jameson


Fundraiser of the Year

For the student or society that has excelled in charity fundraising. 

Winner: Luke Sandys-Renton – University of Brighton Polo Calendar


Wellbeing Volunteer of the Year

For an outstanding volunteer from one of the Union wellbeing teams (CaSH or PEACH) who has delivered services or opportunities for students.

Winner: Sophie Clarke


Student Staff Member of the Year 

BSU employs students wherever possible. This award should go to the member of student staff that goes above and beyond to make sure we offer outstanding services and customer service or makes sure the Union is a great place to visit.

Winner: Frances Sweeney


New Society of the Year (Group)

For a society that has been established this academic year that has created an outstanding offer for students.

Winner: Student Mental Health Society


Elected Officer of the Year

For dedication and achievement in the representation of students.  

Winner: David Avery


Society Committee Member of the Year

This person will have lead their society by example to ensure there is an engaging and exciting programme of activities and opportunities for their members.

Winner: Sam Palmer- LGBT+ Society


Campaigner of the Year

For absolute dedication to the cause. Raising awareness and bringing about meaningful, lasting change for the benefit of others.

Winner: Pete Englesen


Enterprise Volunteer of the Year

For an outstanding volunteer from one of the student led coops or media channels that has brought real value and opportunity to their members.

Winner: Robert Bone


Society of the Year (Group)

For the society that has done amazing work to develop their offering for students. 

Winner: Midwifery Society


Special Awards

There are a number of special awards that the Union will hand out. These awards have not come through nominations but have been handpicked by the Union Awards selection panel for their excellence work and service to the Union.


School of the Year

This award is for the school that has worked tirelessly to improve the experience of its students, this might be through academic excellence, the promotion of extra-curricular enrichment activities or through developing strong working relationships with the Students’ Union.  

Winner: School of Applied Social Sciences (SASS)


LaTrivia Grant Award

Winner: Paige Waldron


Student Centred Excellence Awards

Winners: C-Change & Cassie Thornton


Presidents Awards

Winners: Union Support & Doug Gregg


No comments have been made. Please log in to comment.