Our Union Awards ceremony is designed to celebrate the hard work of students, staff members and volunteers at the University of Brighton and within Brighton Students’ Union. This year has been another fantastic year for us at BSU and we have worked with so many brilliant people – so it’s always great to celebrate with them.

Congratulations to all of the people nominated for an award and thank you to everybody that has gotten involved and made the evening so special. Here are our lucky winners…


Innovative Teaching

Kevin Wyche – Kevin is an extremely passionate academic that has gone above and beyond for students. Some of Kevin’s innovative teaching includes producing an online documentary and lecture videos, they have created online quizzes and bespoke virtual reality environments.


Inspirational Teaching

Dr Jacqueline Elsom – Has a genuine care for each and every person in her class. Nominations stated that their teaching is ‘inclusive and inspiring’ and ‘shows us that nothing is impossible’.

Course Rep of the Year

Lottie Wilson – Lottie has been consistent in keeping students’ voices heard on level 6 Media Studies. This year Lottie has also been a Rep Trainer, helping the Students’ Union to train new Course Reps.


Membership Services Student Staff Member of the Year

Doug Gregg – Since joining the University in 2015, Doug has been active in representing students interests in several capacities - most recently in a paid capacity as a School Academic Organiser. Through this role he has promoted students best interest at the highest level in the School of Environment and Technology and is respected by students and academic staff in equal measure.  He has also worked for the SU in supporting our welcome to new students via our Freshers’ Fair, and has often been the go-to person for covering work at short notice.


Commercial Student Staff Member of the Year

Laura Solley – Laura has helped run the Starting Gate in Eastbourne on a daily basis this year, even through the holidays. Laura has given up her own time outside of work to help run events for other students. Laura’s attitude helps to inspire commitment and dedication from the rest of the team.


School of the Year

Brighton Business School – Brighton Business school have developed new and innovative ways in getting feedback from students, holding events throughout the year that look to gain student feedback on courses. They have also offered huge support for students looking to run events like the end of year ball.


Society of the Year

Law Society – The Law Society have achieved ‘outstanding’ in the Brighton SU society accreditation scheme this year. They have organised networking opportunities for their members, a ball and raised over £6,000 for charities across the year.


SU Volunteer of the Year

Matt Woodley – Matt has been an incredible society leader this year. They have helped to develop their society gaining new members and spreading the society across campuses running in Brighton and Eastbourne.


Support Staff Award

Marianne Lemond – Marianne has worked closely with the Students’ Union this year on a number of projects, they have helped to improve the support for Trans students making it easier for students to change their name and pronouns on University systems. They have helped to develop processes for students observing religious events during exams. They also supported the Brighton SU BME Employability Day.


Volunteer Officer of the Year

Michelle Harfield – Michelle has been an incredibly passionate Mature Students Officer this year. They have attended NUS Sections conference and stood for a position on a national committee, they also presented policy at the conference. They are regular attendees at the monthly SU Student Forums, have lobbied the University on a number of issues and have created a Mature Students’ Society organising social events for mature students at Brighton.


Honorary Life Membership at Brighton SU

Hayley Wood – Hayley has been an active member at the Union for many years as a student, volunteer, student staff member and the Union President. She has done amazing work across all areas and is completely deserving of our Honorary Life Membership award.

Paul Cecil – Paul has worked closely with us for many years and has always been passionate about improving the student experience for all students at the university.


Latrivia Grant Award

Luke Sandys Renton – Luke has done fantastic work as the President of the polo team, alongside being an active and supportive member of the Students’ Union. We are proud to be presenting Luke with this prestigious award for their work within the student community.